La Página Española de Rock Sinfónico CD
Back to SPRP
Back to SPRP
Back to CD review menu
Reviews in Spanish

Already served to


Label: Kaliphonia


  1. Ad Montem (7:31)
  2. Vacuum (5:51)
  3. M.A. (1:20)
  4. Hostis (6:00)
  5. Cor Mio (5:01)
  6. Si Tu Bene Valeas Ego Bene Valeo (7:33)
  7. Lo Stato Delle Cose (9:00)
  8. Deus Ex Machina (7:28)
  9. Omega (2:10)


  • Claudio Trotta / drums
  • Alessandro Porre Porreca / bass
  • Maurino Collina / guitar
  • Alessandro Bonetti / violin
  • Luigi Riccia Ricciardiello / keyboards
  • Alberto Piras / vocals

The second album of this Italian band.

Comparing to the first one, the incredible "Gladium Caeli", this second CD is less dirty and raw, fewer hard rocker and more progressive and jazzy, less wild though also crazy enough and with many rhythm changes. Unlike "Gladium Caeli", which sounded like a live record, here the sound denotes a better production.

Here, influences are started noticing of the Italian band Area, a transcendent very complex band of the 70, which made a mixture between progressively and jazz-rock fusion, with high voltage and very much dynamism. In this second work, the Area influences put squarely to the group in their jazz side. Also we can feel the inevitable references to Il Balleto of Bronzo, Osanna, Gentle Giant, Yes, Frank Zappa, Mahavishnu Orchestra or Van der Graaf Generator, but really in this album, Deus Ex Machina appears as a band with their own sound inside the progressive landscape of the 90.

In this album they continue the guitar, keyboards and violin duels in an endless number of virtuosoes solos, and Alberto Piras continues delighting with his incredible voice, singing, of course, in Latin.

Here we can find classic of the group as "Si tu Bene Valeas Ego Bene Valeo" with its powerful end, the more melodic "Lo Stato delle Cose" and the great "Deus Ex-Machina", which are my favorite, besides other big tracks like "Ad Montem" and "Vacuum".

Well, the whole album has a great level, especially the second half for my taste. Something that, curiously, happens to me with almost all the band's works.

Personally, I have a special predilection for their debut "Gladium Caeli", but it's clear this one is equally a great album.

Rating: 8.5/10

Ferran Lizana

Created in 1994. ©José Manuel Iñesta. Hosted by Dept. Computer Languages and Systems of the University of Alicante, Spain.